Google Associate Cloud Engineer Program

The Google Associate Cloud Engineer alumni program providing NPower Canada graduates with continued upskilling for job placement, retention and career laddering in the information technology field by earning their Associate Cloud Engineer Certification.

 

This program supports NPower Canada graduates to build expertise in cloud infrastructure and prepare for careers in a hybrid cloud world. Learning outcomes include:

Architecting with Compute Engine and Google Cloud Platform (GCP) Fundamentals

  • Learn how to architect cloud and hybrid networks.
  • Become familiar with GCP storage solutions, policy management tools and resources.
  • Explore and deploy infrastructure components such as networks, virtual machines and application services.
  • Learn how to deploy practical solutions including customer-supplied encryption keys, security and access management, quotas and billing, and resource monitoring.

Elastic Google Cloud Infrastructure: Scaling and Automation

  • Explore and deploy solution elements, including securely interconnecting networks, load balancing, autoscaling, infrastructure automation and managed services.
  • Apply a tool set of questions, techniques and design considerations.
  • Define application requirements and express them objectively as KPIs, SLOs and SLIs.
  • Secure cloud applications, data and infrastructure.
  • Use Google Cloud developer tools to set up modern, automated deployment pipelines.
  • Learn how to implement reliable, scalable, resilient applications balancing key performance metrics with cost.

Graduates will secure roles such as:

  • Cloud Solutions Analyst
  • IT Support Specialist
  • Jr. Tester

  • Automation QA Analyst
  • Cloud Support Specialist
  • QA Specialist

Delivery Method:

Blended learning model, primarily delivered online, supplemented by virtual or in-person labs, study groups and career coaching.

Timeline:

  • 12 weeks in length, 10 hours per week commitment
  • Next cohort starting March 2021

Eligibility:

The Google Associate Cloud Engineer Certificate Program is considered an advanced program - you must be an NPower Canada graduate.

Who you are:

  • Graduate of ANY NPower Canada program
  • Greater Toronto Area or Calgary Area resident
  • Achieved CompTIA A+ or Google IT Professional Certification.
  • Young adult (18-30 years old)
  • Demonstrated Interest in coding
  • Strong motivation to work and learn

Admissions Process:

We are currently processing admissions for our cohort beginning on March 15, 2021, with Orientation happening on March 9 and 11.

  • Classes (1.5 hours long) are being offered on Tuesday and Thursday at 9am EST/7am MDT; 1pm EST/11am MDT; 5:30pm EST/3:30pm MDT; 8pm EST/ 6pm MDT. You will be asked to register for one of these sessions on Tuesday and Thursday each during the Admissions process.
  • The program has two streams that you can apply for.
    • The Class-Based stream requires attendance at two weekly, 1.5 hour classes via Zoom.
    • The Self-Directed stream will allow you to complete the program without the requirement of attending live class sessions. You will be required to submit a resume and a letter/video of interest in order to be considered for this stream.

Interested in applying?

  1. Complete the application by clicking on the button below. Please note that this application form is different than the one for our Youth programs.
  2. Successful applicants will be invited to complete a Registration Survey and Boot Camp, which is composed of two parts (Bridging course and Orientation).
  3. Applicants who successfully complete all steps will be provided full acceptance to the program.

Apply Now